My Cooking Class

Everytime I travel for a decent period of time, I try to take a cooking class. So far, I’ve taken one here in Kuwait, Thailand, Spain, England and – this summer – in LA. My husband and I stumbled across the Farmer’s Market after a beautiful lunch at the Grove (a lovely European-vibe outdoor-mall), and within the Market was a cooking school: Sur La Table.

I was in mini heaven. There was an entire area to shop for kitchen goods, and I managed to pick up my first Japanese-steel chef and paring knife (which I use for, literally, everything in my kitchen).

I, unfortunatley, found out about the school only a few days before we left for NYC, but managed to squeeze in a Parisian dessert class. I learnt to make professional pastry dough (yay!), berry tart’s and (might I add, a very, very pathetic and sad looking) souflee – something I definatley need to work on !

Check out the website next time your in the states, as they have classes everywhere – I thought it was a fun activity… now, I’m looking to prepare the individual portion-sized Parisian desserts for a lady’s tea in the garden sometime soon with this beautiful weather.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About sarahskitchenblog

A newly-wed looking to perfect the art of a full-time job, an array of social committments, and a daily home-made (and sometimes healthy) meal.
This entry was posted in Cooking School, LA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Cooking Class

  1. I love the Grove. It’s one of the things I miss about LA. My best friend down there has two small children (and we both have dogs) and we have spent innumerable happy hours entertaining the kids and the dogs — and ourselves! — at the Grove.

    • Yes, it’s such a lovely place to sit outside and hang out ! I have a German Shepard as well, and wished I could’ve brought her she would’ve loved people watching and sitting with us while there. Did you ever visit the Farmer’s Market or take one of the cooking classes there ? I highly recommend it – it was such a fun activity !

Leave a Reply

