My Easy-Peasy-Never-Fails-I-Have-Nothing-in-the-Fridge Pasta

We all have those nights – where my husband is just DONE ordering baking tray (my fav ordering spot), munch, pizza or wherever every night and I have no groceries (or bare basics, pretty much). One night out of desperation I messaged a best friend of mine (who was in London, not even in Kuwait… that’s how desperate I was!),  and asked what on earth could I cook ?! This delicious number was inspired by her – I added a few personal tweaks, and it has now become a house favorite.

Spaghetti Pasta (I use whole-grain, of course you can use whatever you like)

Mushrooms

2-3 tablespoons of butter

Parsley

Garlic Powder

½ teaspoon chopped garlic

Excellent, high quality Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Excellent, high quality Parmesan Cheese

 

That’s it. The ingredients are very basic – but, the quality of them does matter. I usually go for a nice chunk of Parm from Dean and Deluca, and get close family and friends to bring me some Olive Oil from Jordan.

 

Just boil the pasta – while boiling, saute the mushrooms in the garlic and butter until browned. Chop parsley and keep on the side. When the pasta is done boiling, strain, and toss together in strainer with the olive oil, parsley and add a few dashes of garlic powder (by few, I go over board and add around 5 just cause I love that savory taste!). Add sauteed mushrooms. Serve in bowl and add a few thin slices of the parmesan cheese.

 

I serve the pasta alongside an all-green salad with some goat cheese and sliced almonds. This pasta dish, really, when used with proper ingredients, is excellent! With all the sauce-filled dishes I’ve made, this is probably one of my husband’s favorite.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Recipe, inspired by Ms. Tamimi

About sarahskitchenblog

A newly-wed looking to perfect the art of a full-time job, an array of social committments, and a daily home-made (and sometimes healthy) meal.
This entry was posted in Healthy, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Easy-Peasy-Never-Fails-I-Have-Nothing-in-the-Fridge Pasta

  1. Hussah says:

    I’m honored to be featured on your blog. This an all time favorite dish to cook and eat. So easy, and saved me so many times during London.

  2. A7madany says:

    I’m gonna tell my mom about ur blog, she’s gonna like it, wenshala we’ll try ur food ;D

    You really should do some v-logging it will save time n make things easier for you

  3. rana says:

    yUMMM!!! Im a huge pasta fannn!!!! that looks amazing! and btw the penne and pink sauce with mushrooms is the best pasta dish ever!!! LOVE!

Leave a Reply

