A Beautiful Wednesday Night – Mom’s Gathering

Last night my mom invited a few close friend’s over – friend’s of her’s that I practically grew up with. And, so, I popped over with my mother-in-law to visit for a bit. It was lovely, as usual. My mother is such a graceful and elegant hostess and just perfect’s these gatherings to the very detail. She takes her presentation of both, the food and house, quite seriously and manages it all quite well. She had candles lit everywhere, including relaxing Diana Krall music in the background – a lovely, lovely night.

Since it was a ladies gathering, my husband obviously didn’t join, yet my mother (always sure to spoil her son-in-law) sent him a pile of all the goodies. And, of course, no cook beats my mom. She had delicious appetizer bites and stunning desserts.

She started us off with a crisp pomegranate and arugula leaf salad, hot artichoke and spinach dip (a house-hold favorite!), skewers of marinated shrimp and chicken and a warm cheesy vegetable lasagna topped with fresh marinara sauce she made on the side. For dessert, she outdid herself — individually baked pear tarts and individual pecan pies. It was a treat for the eye’s as well as the tummy !

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About sarahskitchenblog

A newly-wed looking to perfect the art of a full-time job, an array of social committments, and a daily home-made (and sometimes healthy) meal.
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Entertaining and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Beautiful Wednesday Night – Mom’s Gathering

  1. Mae Al Hajjaj says:

    It was a lovely gathering and you’re right, your mother is the perfect hostess. My favorite dish without a doubt was the pecan pie…I could have eaten 10. Thank you and my best wished for this great blog. I’ll be forwarding it to my friends and family.

Leave a Reply

