Sara Beth’s – Charming NYC Breakfast Spot

With all the baking this week and breakfast posts, I’m reminded of this adorable place my sister took us to this summer in the Big Apple: Sara Beth’s. I had never been (nor had I heard of it, to be honest) but she was raving about it and it was quite cute. The decor stole my heart: very girly and marie antoinette-ish with all the pastel’s and cute muffin and cakes around.

To be honest, I’ve had better in New York (I mean, the selection of good food is ridiculous anyway and I am more into the organic, rustic and less super high-profile-full-of-tourist spots) but, I still do appreciate the charming girly coffee and tea-time breakfasts. I wish it wasn’t across the street from Central Park, and was actually in the park or somewhere more gardeny and scenic. But, still – it has a beautiful appeal and delicious food. Like most famous spots in NYC, there’s a small line trailing outside the door (particularly on these popular Sunday morning’s) and rightfully so. The food is very good – I had my usual, jalapeno and scallion eggs (yumyumyum). Surprisingly, the best part of the breakfast was a side that just came with: the cinnamon muffin. This has to have been the BEST muffin I ever had. I asked the waitress and she mentioned they were in fact famous for them.

If walking around Central Park, it’s definitely a nice place to pop into for a latte and muffin. It’s very charming – although next time I’d probably go with a girlfriend and go with the hubby somewhere less touristy (at least during the peak time in summer). Also, I definitely want to return and taste more of their unbelievable muffins !

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About sarahskitchenblog

A newly-wed looking to perfect the art of a full-time job, an array of social committments, and a daily home-made (and sometimes healthy) meal.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Famous, NYC, Restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sara Beth’s – Charming NYC Breakfast Spot

  1. rana says:

    My sis and I went to it this year, because many people kept suggesting it, and I have no idea why everyone makes a big deal about it….the food was very normal, and the dishes were heavy and weren’t anything special…so yes touristy…but i wouldn’t go out of my way to go there hehe

    • Yea I totally agree – I thought the muffins were good, but everything else was average. I see the charm in the decor, but there’s definitely better in NYC. I have an amazing breakfast place I’ll post about this week in new york that you and your sister MUST try… And that, was amazing !

Leave a Reply

