Garlic and Herb Summer Cherry Tomatoes

I have such a soft spot for delicious, beautiful side-dishes. I think they get such a bad rap and are usually the same-old, standard, bland salads and boiled veggies. Most cook’s concentrate so much on the main, the sides are usually quite boring. I’m on a mission to try and jazz up a bunch of side dishes recipes, and instead of having massive 3-hour main course dishes (although, oh-so-yummy), try and deliver two or three course mains that are simple, healthy and different. I began with these. For one, cherry tomatoes are every where right now. And I mean, everywhere. Large one’s, small one’s medium sized ones – they’re just beautiful and screaming of summer. I grabbed a few boxes (yes, again) and whipped up something quick, light and easy. 

Serves 4-6

 

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons minced garlic (3 cloves)

2 pints of cherry tomatoes

2 tablespoons fresh basil

2 tablespoons fresh flat-leaf parsley

2 tablespoons fresh thyme leaves (I couldn’t find thyme and used rosemary instead)

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper


This recipe is almost ridiculously easy. First, heat the olive oil in a pan or skillet – I like to use one I will already serve them in. Add the garlic and allow to heat for roughly 1 minute. Add the basil, parsley, thyme, salt, pepper and tomatoes. Move the tomatoes around with a wooden spatula so all sides get saturated in the spices. Allow to cook for a good 5 to 7 minutes, or until the tomatoes begin to burst. When finished, garnish with extra parsley.

 

Yes, that’s really it. And you better believe, this is just the beginning of the gorgeous sides I’m going to begin giving homage to. I served this alongside buttermilk mashed potatoes and a nice rib-eye steak. Call me crazy, but I think these tomatoes can also be diced, then added into a crisp, warm, italian baguette with soft-buffalo mozerella and a drizzle of olive-oil, as a take-away vegetarian sandwich. Or, tossed into a mixed green salad. Or, scarfed in one sitting as is (ahem). Enjoy! 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Recipe, courtesy of Ina Garten

About sarahskitchenblog

A newly-wed looking to perfect the art of a full-time job, an array of social committments, and a daily home-made (and sometimes healthy) meal.
This entry was posted in Easy Peasy, Recipe, Seasonal Ingredient, Sides, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment